Miss Micah’s Gotcha Day….the rollercoaster ride!!

Well, we have the Micah!!!  We are IN LOVE…..it is becoming mutual slowly but surely.  We got the phone call at 3:30 (was supposed to be after 4:00!) to come down to the lobby.  (Zoe got the call as I was down in mom’s room taking care of my back!)  We immediately went down and as soon as I looked into the lobby, I saw her.  I would’ve recognized her in a crowd of a million!  She saw me, too, as I approached.  She locked knowing eyes and did not take them away…..I do believe she saw our photos and this was her worst nightmare come true….that white haired, 4 eyed alien does exist and she’s coming to take me away!!!  Micah had an entourage with her:  the director, the oldest daughter from the foster family (where she spent most of her life and had deeply attached,) plus several other folks.  They gave us many pictures and gifts.  They seemed to want to ensure we were going to be good to her and I could tell she was greatly loved!  She was fine until she was handed to me…..then the wails started.  I took her upstairs; thankfully the wails lasted just about 45 minutes.  The whole family was around her and she began to warm up.  By the first hour, we had achieved smiles and belly laughs!  She loves bubbles, stacking cups, rattles and having and audience!  Things went well until the adoption ncoordinator came in to the room about 6:00; that got the wailing started again.  But we made it through and she is taking to me despite her strong-will to want to hate me!  She is very smart (really!) and is quite spoiled.  I am being tested by her and so far am passing.  We had a good night of sleep (well, everyone did but me!); she only woke up once and took a bottle and went to sleep on me (she is a cuddler and I have gotten in MANY kisses!!) and then back into the crib.  For those in the know, she is like her big sister and has now taken a mine unto herself!! (a thin blankie that has been prepared by a combination of her smells and ours.)  We have to go to the Civil Affairs Office today to complete her paperwork.  It is very hot in the offices we are told.  Yuck!!! I will write more later.  Keep praying for peace over Micah and all of us.  We love her to pieces!!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brad, Kris and the girls
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 13:03:16

    We are elated! We will be praying for peace for Micah and for the family. She will know she`s loved and cared for. The Lord will replace that mourning for her foster family to joy knowing she has her Forever Family!
    We love you, are continuing to pray.

    Reply

  2. Kendra
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 14:22:30

    Congratulations! Micah is adorable!

    Reply

  3. Jackie
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 14:28:22

    Oh Joy…… she is precious…….. so glad that she didn’t cry all night long so that you and everyone else could get some rest. It was a stressful day for her too! Poor little punkin……… sounds to me like bringing the child to hotel to each specific family separately, works out much better. I remember what you told us the last time the “exchange” was done…….. all the babies crying at same time……. stress for everyone. This way is much calmer. Thank God she is with her new family safe and sound. Prayers for all of you.

    Reply

  4. Fliss
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 21:05:00

    Oh I am so incredibly happy for you all… sending you all hugs…

    Reply

  5. Kristy
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 03:40:14

    Hi Joy, you were handed your daughter almost in the exact same spot I was handed Franceska!!! She is beautiful and sounds so much like Franceska, I cant wait for you to get home so we can talk!! Love you girl!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment